LITTLE ROCKET MAN!

little rocket man Ever since I played through Half-Life 2:Episode 2, I told myself one day I would go back and play through it again. My sole purpose? To unlock one of the greatest achievements of all time: Little Rocket Man. So, a few months back I started the trek with my little grey-bearded companion. If I remember correctly, one could easily miss him altogether. If you are curious, he can be found in the first building you enter in Episode2 and he’s hiding underneath a bunk bed/shelf. From there on out, he’ll travel with you for quite some time. You may even become quite attached. Toward the end of my jot I actually became upset when that chopper would shoot the little guy. I swear that chopper pilot was targeting him on purpose…

I have to admit, there were times when I had to think how to bring him with me. I NEVER found a good way for him to travel in the car with me. It was a constant battle of checking to see WHEN he fell out and going back to pick him up again. When it came to the chopper scene, I eventually had to leave the car behind and take him with me, using each train car to duck under until I finally reached the next load screen in the tunnel.

I had the perception from the start, that I thought I would have to launch him into the silo tube with the zero-g gun right before the rocket takes off. But, it turned out to be much easier than that. When you first arrive to the White Forest Base Camp, you enter the first missle silo. There the rocket is being prepped for launch. Climb the short stairwell to a small open hatch. That’s where the little guy goes! To receive the achievement, you have to close the hatch. Don’t forget to do that!

Preparing for take off

I mentioned at the outset that I started playing Ep2 a few months ago. Actually, it was around last October! I picked it up again a few days ago and today I unlocked Little Rocket Man. To this date, this is my most proud/glorious achievement. Some may get frustrated or feel this achievement should be worth far more points, but you have to give it to Valve. IMO this is how achievements should be. Great idea and fun to unlock!

Leave a comment if you have any other questions about this short walkthrough or if you just wanna brag about your Little Rocket Man Achievement!!

One Response to “LITTLE ROCKET MAN!”

  1. Now THIS is an achievement! Has to be one of the hardest to get in any game. Grats!

Leave a Reply

